Hi there, Computer Geeks !
How well do you know your computers ?
Here is an interesting bit of information for you …
Are deleted files completely erased from your computer? Have you ever wondered whether the files that you delete from your computers are really gone? Can they be retrieved or are they completely erased from your hard drive?
When we click "delete" on a file it disappears and for most of us that is the end of it . If we want to keep no trace of it we generally go to the recycle bin - where this deleted file gets sent - and then empty it .
However, it might interest you to know that , highly sensitive data can still be retrieved from a hard disc even after they have been removed from the recycle bin . This can be done with the help of specially designed software.
What actually happens is that, any time that a file is deleted from a hard drive, it is not really erased. What is erased, is the bit of information that points to the location of the file on the hard drive. The operating system uses these pointers to build the directory tree structure (the file allocation table), which consists of the pointers for every other file on the hard drive. When the pointer is erased, the file essentially becomes invisible to the operating system. The file still exists; the operating system just doesn`t know how to find it.
The only way to completely erase a file with no trace is to overwrite the data. There are also many "file erasing" software products currently on the market that will automatically permanently erase files by overwriting them.
So you have`nt really lost things even if you think you have !
For more such interesting information on the workings of your computer you can visit this site :